Your journey begins with a gentle push, in reverse, and you're anticipating the adventures to come. For this reason, when I was an instructor I always followed the checklist carefully, even if I didn’t need to as I had flown that particular aircraft several times a day for months. Mixture rich, assuming takeoff below 3000 feet. If you do the checks silently, it is quite possible to read one line of checks, but not actually do them in practice. If the gate is equipped, a passenger boarding bridge is positioned by the forward left-side doors. There are 3 different emergency squawk codes for different situations. To indicate the landing clearance or final approach, the Captain will either make the following announcement and/or blink the No Smoking sign. So I hope I have now convinced you of the importance of pre-flight checks. Before take-off, flight attendants will give a standard preflight briefing, which mainly concerns safety (seat belts, life jackets, exits, that sort of thing). If there is no video system and the flight attendants do the demonstration themselves in the aisles, the announcement might be as follows. But it definitely gives the wrong impression for any student, since students learn from example at least as much as from what their instructor tells them to do. The exact text depends on the airline and other factors (regulations do not dictate the words to be said, they only specify what information has to be covered). These texts are provided simply as a guidance. If you see other pilots skimping on them and simply getting in the aircraft, having a cursory look around and taking off, remember that this is not a good thing to do. Both promise to save fuel, and reduce airport noise. The flight attendants will then invite the passengers to release their seat belts if needed. Depending on the type of aircraft and presence of a video system, this announcement will be made. It may be followed by an announcement by a flight attendant.