It also helps explain the rather jarring editing of the original version (when we just had quick cutaways of the men sitting silently in between their excised dialogue), so as an editor I endorse it on that alone. They don’t RUIN the movie by any means, but they distract more often than not, and other than the hospital scene none of them really fix anything that could be considered a flaw in the original (Regan’s out of nowhere need for medical attention). Please note which one you saw first, too.