However, an excessively or continuously hot freezer exterior may be a sign that maintenance or repairs are in order. Any ideas? Behind your refrigerator is a very large coiling tube. The first and best thing you can do is to clean the condenser coils. I'm no refrigerator scientist, but fridges work as heat pumps. If the seal is cracked or damaged, warm air can seep into the freezer, causing the compressor to work overtime to keep the freezer cold.

This is what the refrigerator condenser does.

Weibo It is possible for refrigerators to overheat, but a few simple maintenance steps can keep your fridge and condenser in good shape. I dunno, not a fridge scientist)....in which case I'd assume thermal overload on the compressor would trip before anything got to the burney stage.

Compressor generates heat as it runs.

It’s a surprising hot breeze along the floor of the kitchen and the force of that heat can sometimes be alarming. The topic ‘Hot Fridge Advice Please’ is closed to new replies. If the coils are located near the bottom front of the unit, remove the base grille that covers the coils. 1.

This tube contains coolant fluid that is forcibly expanded into a gas, which releases waste-heat in the transition. If it is 12 years old, it would pay to replace it with a modern energy efficient Fridge. This is the end of a short duct from the coils which are cold inside the fridge and hot outside the fridge. Is this terminal? I recently noticed that the sides of the refrigerator, near the front door, feel slightly hot to the touch. It is approx 4 years old. I don't care if I lose ~$40 of food if the refrigerator dies, but I'd rather not have to replace it right now. (Commercial refrigerator/freezer). It may appear hotter in summer or when the product is used for the first time as the compressor runs longer to make more cool air. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies.