Football is not a British game, it’s actually Chinese! This is the heart of tactics! Because two defenders and two Segundo Volantes got me wondering who on earth thought this was a feasible idea. This formation has the following schedule: (4) defence, (2 + 3) midfield, and (1) attack. All in all it’s a very basic tactic with an asymmetrical twist, nothing fancy but it works a treat. A little disclaimer: I am not good at writing amazing tactically insightful posts so this may end up with me rambling on but I hope it comes across OK and I hope you enjoy! This means that everyone must contribute both in defense and in the attack. These two guys are the real heart beat of the team, the primary assist makers (as you’d expect) but also two of the main goalscorers in the side. As it turns out, there were 5. Four players in the defense + huge international experience are more than enough to activate the “use offside trap,” and the marking scheme is a little bonus because I set closing down – less. It was so f***ing weird but I was on the edge of my seat in a few of the games.

There were struggles at times, mainly in terms of finishing chances, but this may have been down to the fact that players weren’t entirely comfortable in their roles. The standard 442 and 4231 formations are very commonly used in Football Manager games, both because they’re popular in the real world and because, with the introduction of player roles in FM, it is easy to find the players that fit nicely into these tactics.